Six-Month Usage Report

Matt,

I’ve been using Arc for about six months now. I know you know all of this already, I’m just submitting feedback for sake of documenting a periodic review here.

• Data gaps - the occurrence of gaps has increased with time and app usage. However, it seems to be resolved by Arc Mini which I put through rigorous testing yesterday at Walt Disney World. Nice!

• Edit/UI latency - this too has increased over time. But, this seems to be improved by the latest update which I installed this morning. As you already noted, it doesn’t fix all latency but there is a noticeable and significant improvement when editing. Thank you for tackling this!

• Colors - I realize I’m probably an edge case, but it would be useful to have a broader color palette for activity types. Currently, tram, tuk-tuk, songthaew, cable car, funicular, chairlift, and ski lift activity types all have the same gold color which makes it more difficult to interpret maps. Also, and this is super minor considering you just released Arc Mini, it would be nice to have a white-on-black color scheme for the new Arc Mini widgets. It would help decrease display brightness energy consumption. :slight_smile:

• Place statistics - the total visits and common stats are useful. I know you said you’d like to expand the stats measurements, so I’d be interested in any future development in this area.

• Security - it’s unlikely I’ll want to continue to use iCloud for backup for much longer due to Apple’s recent moves into this area. What is the best way to manually back up Arc’s database?

• Exporting maps and timelines - long timelines won’t export and maps only export a fixed map extent. The easy workaround is to just screen capture the info. No big deal here.