Are my models not updating?

I’ve been using Arc for very many years (in the paid version since available). In recent months, the classification feels like it’s getting worse and worse. It’s almost useless at this point.

Sometimes I try to teach it and go through a weeks visits and correct each movement type and location, but it does not seem to help.

I’m attaching a screenshot of a clearly implausible classification (although I would love to own that car) along with some debug info that looks suspicious to me—why are there so many updates pending?

I am trying to add the screenshots that I mentioned in the original post, which discourse’s spam protection disallowed me from posting. But it’s telling me now that I’m responding too quickly.

I never swipe-up-kill apps, and arc only occasionally (once every couple of weeks) complains that iOS terminated it. Phone is always on (flight mode at night), background app refresh off for most apps, but on for Arc.

And here is the last screenshot

Thanks for making Arc :star_struck:

1 Like

Hi @skywards!

In your first screenshot, the significant detail is the “Most common speed” line, which shows 38 km/h. That’s a very plausible speed for a car.

The difference between “most common” and “average” speed is important - the former means the speed at which most of the data was recorded. So for example if you’re travelling at walking speed for 10 minutes, then for a brief moment the phone messes up and records some data rapidly moving away, at 1000 km/h, the average speed for that trip will shoot up absurdly high, but the most common speed will still be walking speed.

The classifier is classifying the individual recorded samples within the trip, so if most of those samples are at walking (or in this case car) speed, the overall conclusion will be walking or car, even though the average speed might show something quite different, if the phone blipped out and produced some nonsense data briefly.