App storage on iPhone 12 very large

My iPhone 12 is showing almost out of storage. When I check my usage in settings it shows that the Arc App has 28gb of documents and data stored on my iPhone. My iCloud backup account only shows about 2gb of backups. Is there any way of reducing this amount of storage? I have been using Arc for several years, and don’t want to loose the data, but it would be nice to move some of it off the phone, if at all possible. Thanks!

Hi @harbisonrepair!

28 GB is insane! Yes Arc does use a lot of space, because it records detailed data 24/7, but typical storage space use for a user with 4+ years of data is around 4 GB. So what you’re seeing is 7 times more than expected!

I don’t know why that would be. This is the first time I’ve heard of it happening, and there’s nothing that Arc stores that could possibly come anywhere close to using that much space.

My suggestion would be to delete the app then reinstall and restore from Arc’s backups. Though before doing that, make sure you’ve got an up to date backup in iCloud Drive. You can check when the last backup completed by looking in Arc’s Settings tab → Backup, Import & Export, then under the “iCloud Drive backups” section it will say there.

Though I also recommend doing a full fresh backup first too, to clear out any potential cruft in the backups, which will help the restore to go faster and smoother. To do this, turn off the “iCloud Drive backups” toggle, wait a minute, then turn it back on. (The toggle has a grace period it waits before actually turning off the backups, to cope gracefully with people who might flick it on and off, changing their mind).

When you turn backups off, you’ll see you existing backups renamed to “Previous Backups” on iCloud Drive. Then when you turn backups back on, you’ll see a new Backups folder created.