Walking incorrectly identified as cycling/transport

Since the upgrade to Arc 3.6.0 I have noticed new behaviour in the app when tracking my activities.

While walking and looking at the app, it is typically showing me as either ‘cycling’ or ‘transport’ rather than walking. I’ve been using the app for a few months and have not seen this behaviour before - it has always shown me as ‘walking’ while walking.

I can correct it while still walking, by tapping on the line I have created and adjusting the activity, and it will then be the correct activity but perhaps 100-200m later, it will show the subsequent travel as ‘cycling’ again. If I leave it to autocorrect at the end of the activity, it doesn’t self-correct in more than a few cases.

For example, I was walking today which flagged as cycling. I corrected it to walking, and the new travel was still considered cycling so I didn’t correct it again. The app later has updated the incorrect choice of cycling to the correct choice of walking, except for part in the middle where it has declared it to be ‘transport’.

This is new behaviour so perhaps there is a refined maximum speed in 3.6.0 and my fast walking is being misidentified because of my personal speed? I am not a professional speedwalker, I just don’t dawdle along, but it’s a bit annoying to need to keep changing back when it wasn’t happening previously.

Thoughts welcomed!

Hm. I have a theory about what’s happening!