Arc doesn't seem to learn my movements

I have been using Arc since January of 2018, so I have over 5 years of data that Arc should be learning from. I am fairly consistent with making sure I correct each day, both locations and activity types.

The locations Arc suggests are usually spot on, but the activity types are all over the place. I took a flight yesterday, and Arc suggested one of the more insanely ridiculous activities I have seen.

I’m just wondering why the “learning engine” just doesn’t seem to understand much. How can I figure out where I have trained it so incorrectly? I fly all of the time, and have never had a 900 mile bike ride, so what of my past activity behavior will make Arc suggest this?

Hi @Jeffk!

There’s another discussion going on at the moment about flight recording, which will be well worth a read: Flight details missing from timeline

Airlines are quite a special case, with very different and constrained conditions. I go into detail in that other discussion, but the gist of it is that when you’re on the ground your phone determines your location by making use of three different methods: 1) cell tower triangulation, 2) wifi hotspot triangulation, 3) GPS/GNSS triangulation, but when you’re in an airplane only the last of those is possible - GPS/GNSS.

Ok, so, I do recommend reading the other discussion, but here’s one of my signature overly detailed technical explanations anyway:

Cell tower triangulation and wifi hotspot triangulation don’t need “line of sight” - they can see through walls. That’s how iPhones are capable of determining your location when you’re inside buildings, or in built up city areas with limited view of the sky. GPS/GNSS on the other hand requires “line of sight”, meaning that the phone needs to be able to visibly “see” a broad area of the sky, so that it can pick up signal from multiple satellites.